Forum for African Women Educationalists - Uganda Chapter (FAWEU)

"20 Years of Enhancing Girls' and Women's Education for Development" FAWE Uganda 1997-2017

About Mastercard Foundation / FAWE Higher Education Access Program

The Under Secretary, MoES (front row: in a grey suit) and delegates from partner institutions at the MCF Visioning Workshop

In line with its mission and objectives, FAWEU in partnership with the FAWE Regional Secretariat (FAWE RS) will be implementing an eight-year Higher Education Access Program with support from Mastercard Foundation. The program will enable 300 young women and men from disadvantaged regions of Uganda who are academically able, yet economically disadvantaged to access, and transition through higher education and secure employment in sectors that contribute to the development of their home communities.



Background to the Program

Uganda’s Vision 2040 aims at attaining a middle-income status for the nation. However, the vision also acknowledges that the eastern, northern and western regions are characterized by poor education and health infrastructure, high poverty levels, food insecurity and limited social amenities.

The Government of Uganda recognizes the critical role that higher education plays in innovation and human resource development and that, science education is vital for innovations which transform economies. Within this context, the Higher Education Access Program was informed by Vision 2040, a situation analysis involving 112 key informants across the three regions, a rapid assessment of 23 potential partner institutions and consultative and planning meetings with key districts, institutional and government stakeholders.


Nature of support

To ensure the successful completion of their studies, students on the Higher Education Access Program will be provided with the following support: tuition, accommodation, meals, a stipend, functional fees, National Council for Higher Education (NCHE) fees, medical insurance and costs for internships, industrial training and field attachments. They will also be provided with educational materials such as text books, laboratory requirements and agricultural equipment for field attachments. The program will further avail each student with a laptop to facilitate academic research, exposure and online networking. The material support shall be bolstered by psychosocial support through peer-to-peer support, annual student camps and continuous support and monitoring by focal points based at the institutions.


Anticipated impact

The Higher Education Access Program takes a community development approach that envisages that the target students will, upon graduation, return to their communities and contribute to socio-economic development through paid or self-employment and give-back activities. Above all, the identified marginalized and hard-to-reach regions will have sustainable home-based human resources. The program will therefore be contributing to Uganda’s Vision 2040 and other development blueprints. 



Constituting Regional Bursary Technical Committee (RBTC)

The Regional Bursary Technical Committee is formed to enhance and foster accountability and community participation in handling a number of program activities at the regional and district level.  The bursary technical committee is comprised of; 

- District Education Officers of target districts; 

- Two representatives from each of the partner institutions; 

- Two FAWEU staff; and  

- A FAWEU member from the region. 

 However, other members may be co-opted on need basis.

Roles of the Bursary Technical Committee

The committee will be responsible for:

- Reviewing and signing off the student selection guidelines and other guiding documents; 

- Receiving applications, interviewing, authenticating and selecting eligible scholars;

- Monitoring partner institutions’ compliance to agreed admission procedures and management requirements; 

- Contributing to the wide publicity of the Higher Education Access Program, pre- and post- implementation;

- Creating partnerships with local NGOs, private and corporate establishments for students’ career mentorship, internship and possible employment opportunities;

- Resolving selection-related conflicts;

- Promoting accountability and stewardship of resources in the delivery of an impactful program;

- Participating in annual review meetings; 

- Promoting transparency in the dissemination of program information;

- Fostering partnership with industry and professional communities to create internship, career mentoring and eventual absorption of students into the labor market; and

- Reporting to FAWE Uganda who will in turn provide quality control of the program and promote adherence to reporting requirements and transparency in the management of financial and other program resources in partner institutions as well as track evidence of impact.


Eligibility Criteria


  1. Applicants must be aged between 18 and 25 years.
  2. Applicants must hail from and must have attended school in the 13 project districts: Bukwo, Buyende, Katakwi and Mayuge in Eastern Region; Buliisa, Bundibugyo, Kanungu and Ntoroko in Western Region; and, Adjumani, Amudat, Amuru, Kaabong and Pader in Northern Region.
  3. Applicants must be applying for direct entry to the following higher institutions of learning; Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST), Busitema University, Gulu University, Jinja School of Nursing and Midwifery, and Medical Laboratory Training School, Jinja only. And can be admitted on these courses; agricultural sciences, medical and health, and education courses for the academic year 2017/2018.
  4. Applicants who sat for their A Level examinations in 2016.
  5. Applicants should not be beneficiaries of any other bursary scheme or scholarship.
  6. Other vulnerability aspects to be considered will include: young people living with disability, HIV/AIDS–infected or affected, orphaned (total or partial).
  7. The Applicant must be willing to give back to his/her community.

Target Courses

  • Agricultural Sciences,
  • Medical and Health Sciences,
  • Education courses (Science and Literature, degree only).

How to apply

  • Serialized application forms will be available at no cost from the partner institutions, District Education Offices (DEOs) in the 13 project districts as well as from the FAWEU Office plot 328, Bukoto – Kisasi Road, Kampala, Uganda.
  • Submit a fully completed application form to the office of the District Education Office (DEO), any of the partner institutions or to the FAWEU Office.
  • For further enquiry and assistance, please do not hesitate to contact the Programme Coordinator on 0782131713/0772545021
  • For more information, please visit / 

Mastercard Foundation Visioning Workshop

You are here: Home MasterCard Foundation About Mastercard Foundation / FAWE Higher Education Access Program