The project which aims to improve teaching and learning practices in STEM is implemented in 40 projects schools across 39 districts in the northern, central, western, and eastern regions of Uganda. The 40 project schools were selected in close consultation with Ministry of Education and Sports, with precedence  being given to;  schools that are centres for the Ministry of Education and Sports Secondary Science and Mathematics Teacher (SESEMAT) program, single-sex/girls schools and government-aided schools. SESEMAT centres were established between 2005 -2008, with the overall goal of improving the quality of delivery of and performance of science subjects. To date, the SESEMAT project has trained over 100 science teachers in modern methods of science teaching and the STEM project will tap into this skilled human capital to advance teaching and learning of science subjects in secondary schools and enhance performance. The project further builds upon FAWE’s past gender responsive interventions in STEM education for girls, among them; the Intel funded regional STEM competition project which Uganda has been a part of that targets secondary school girls and has been implemented since 2012 and the International Development Bank (IDB) funded STEM program implemented in Burkina Faso.

Geographic coverage

         The STEM Project is implemented in four traditional regions of Uganda namely; Centeral, Western, Northern and Eastern regions. The regions are further divided into six clusters; North Western, Northern, North Eastern, Eastern, Central and Western to ensure regional balance in the selection of the 40 project schools. FAWEU is partnering with 6 project schools from Central, 12 from Northern, 11 from Eastern and 11 from Western region making a total of 40 project schools. The selection of the project schools was done in consultation with Ministry of Education and Sports and other key stakeholders. The schools are spread across 39 districts namely; Kampala, Wakiso, Mityana, Masaka, Kalungu, Mpigi, Moroto, Gulu, Pader, Kitgum, Apac, Abim, Kaabong, Napak, Zombo, Arua, Lira, Moyo, Kamuli, Manafwa, Buyende, Mayuge, Iganga, Bukwo, Kapchorwa, Busia, Soroti, Tororo, Jinja, Bushenyi, Rukungiri, Masindi, Bulisa, Kabale, Hoima, Kasese, Ntoroko, Bundibugyo and Kabarole. The schools were selected with guidance from the MoES using the experience of SESEMAT, with the largest number of schools going to the Northern region that is most disadvantaged and the least going to the Central region that is the most advantaged region in terms of education and many other social amenities.